Branching Out

I’m in the midst of busting out a series of chunky scarves and cowls.  Chunky is usually not my thing – I tend to work in worsted weight on smaller needles.  Size 10 is huge, as far as I’m concerned.  Yes, it takes longer, but I prefer tighter knit fabric with more structure.

I do like structure.  Must be my type A personality at work.

Time to branch out, though:

A chunky knit honeycomb stitch cowl based on something similar I made years ago.  This time I made it taller so that it scrunches down nicely.  It’s super cozy!

DSC_0390

 

 

A chunky knit basketweave stitch infinity scarf.  This one’s my favorite.  I love the texture and the length (it’s huge!), and it has a lot of different styling possibilities.  Making one for myself is on the to-do list.

Cowl Basketweave Olive 03

 

A chunky knit hooded cowl.  I just used stockinette stitch for the body of this one, but I’d like to try it with a more textured stitch.  It also spawned a bunch of ideas I’ll be working out over the coming summer for Fall 2014!

Hooded Cowl

All can be found in the scarves and cowls section of my shop!

Leave a Reply

