Product Photography Using Analogous Colors

Last week I kicked of a small series of posts devoted to using color theory to help stage your product photography. Last post covered complementary colors, and today we’re moving on to the wonderful world of… analogous colors!

When I want a photograph to have a more comfortable feel to it, I often use analogous pairings in my staging.  Analogous colors are two to three colors in a row on the color wheel.  Red-violet, violet, and blue-violet, for instance.
ColorWheel

An analogous color scheme lacks the pop and contrast of a complementary color pair, but because all of the colors in an analogous scheme are similar, it conveys a more rich, harmonious feeling. 

However, since I work in an earthy palette and my closet (despite the art teacher thing) doesn’t look like a rainbow, we have to stretch this idea a little to make it work.

6782105460_b0f463f216_z

So, I’ve got a blue-green honeycomb cowl and paired it with a dark blue shirt.  Blue-green and blue are analogous colors, BUT, I’ve gone with a darker version of blue.

greens

Here, I’ve got a dark green mitten on a yellow-green sweater AND there’s green detailing on the mitten.  Yellow-green and green — analogous?  Yup.

My point is that for the purposes of your product photography, you don’t have to stick strictly to the color wheel colors.  You can use lighter, darker, or more muted versions (tints, shades, and tones) of those colors and still get the same sense of cohesiveness within your photograph.

 

 

Leave a Reply

